GLEEqueries: Burning Questions About The Hit Show

I am a gleek.  Definition: I love the tv musical comedy show, Glee.  Or I used to.

As of late, I seem to tune in just to see what’s going on rather than to enjoy the quirkiness of the show that drew me in since it premiered back in ’09.  The songs performed on Glee are becoming more and more obscure- especially for those of us who haven’t familiarized ourselves with a repertoire of dated Broadway songs that surpass our ages.  Also, the one or rather one of the main things -the quirky, sick, and twisted yet uber chipper dialogue- that kept me as a viewer is losing its grasp.

Glee would benefit if it took a cue from some of its better moments of the past.  Perform songs and reference pop culture that the audience can relate to.  Think, the wildly popular Britney Spears episode, the kids being kids in the infamous Season 2 “Blame it on the Alcohol” episode, and even this year’s performance of Adele’s super soulful hits.

What’s missing from Season 3 is the reminder that although these teens love show tunes and a lot of Gaga, they’re also just teens.  Gone are the scenes where the audience experienced the circus of daily teenage life with the characters along with the Glee club’s love for the stage.  Instead, viewers are now force fed these ever changing plots that seem to be thinning rather than thickening as the season moves forward.

More and more I’ve been asking myself, “What is going on?!?” with each passing episode.  Now, I’m relieved to know I’m not the only one with inquiries.  The lovable show that I was once engaged in has become sort of a dull spectator sport for me.  But there is hope.  With some of the main characters like Rachel, Kurt, and Finn graduating this year, I’m looking forward to some shakeups in the plot for next season.  Until graduation comes, here are the 118 questions about Glee’s last episode that made me think twice, LOL, and anxious to tune in next week, hopeful for resolve.

Read more at Gawker

Posted in TV

Leave a Reply

